I Forge Iron

Heat Treating a Frizzen

Hey all. 

I realize theres a gunsmithing section of this forum, but thats a very low traffic section near the bottom, as such i thought i could receive more information by placing this thread in General HT. 

Traditionally, the frizzen of a flintlock was case hardened, to provide a sufficient surface for the flint to create sparks from. My question; could you simply through harden a piece of, say, 1095 and do a low temper at 350-400° F? 

While i am no expert, i imagine frizzens were typically case hardened because it was simply easier, given the materials of the time. When demand for rifles was high, using high carbon blister steel would likely be too time consuming and expensive, and also a waste of good quality steel that could be used elsewhere, such as in the springs or barrels. 

Nowadays, we have easy access to high carbon steel, so it would seem logical to through harden a piece of that instead of going through the process of case hardening.

But could one expect similar results?

Thanks. 

12 minutes ago, Will W. said:

Hey all. 

I realize theres a gunsmithing section of this forum, but thats a very low traffic section near the bottom, as such i thought i could receive more information

Wrong, it goes in gun smithing, the only reason there arent posts there is  because you didnt make any there, and to complain because that subject is posted  lower on the page is lame. there are many topics and not all of them can be  at the top.  We have subjects to keep organised. Posting because you think another area is more busy is just wrong

Your idea to use 1095 will work.  Some guys take and forge weld a piece of high carbon onto wrought for the frizzen.  I would check out the american longrifle forums as I know there are a few topics on this subject.

Cranky much Steve?