I Forge Iron

New from NJ

kjbarth

Hi from North Jersey.  I have no experience blacksmithing but am trying to learn.  I became interested through straight razors - I've been doing restores and honing on straight razors for a bit and thought I'd like to try to make one.  As I started researching, I thought maybe I should try making a knife or a few knives first.  I may be wrong but I figure a knife might be a little more forgiving to mistakes than a straight razor.  I have a KMG grinder. 2 buffers, a lot of honing stones and am planning to build a propane forge from an old expansion tank from my furnace.  I have a couple of 50 lb railroad track pieces and a few smaller ~20 - 25 lb pieces for my anvils for now.  I have some 1084 and O1 tool steel pieces and a bunch (40) of old railroad spikes.  I'm looking for a used HT oven but figured I ought to start doing something with what I have now before investing in an oven.

I'll be lurking all over the site trying to learn as much as I can.

Ken.

16 hours ago, ThomasPowers said:

I graduated from Holmdel High, Holmdel NJ (mile 114-117 on the GSP)

Brings to mind the old joke, 'You from Jersey, I'm from Jersey.... What exit?'.  I'm off 145.

Welcome aboard Ken, glad to have you. You'll hear it soon enough but RR spikes do NOT have enough carbon to make a good blade. Sure you can forge one into the shape and sharpen it but it won't hold an edge, can't. You can slit and weld in a high carbon bit or sandwich it in san mai fashion but I don't know how that'd work as a razor. Then again I'm not a bladesmith guy in spite of the number of folk who have been trying to lure me onto the dark side.

Frosty The Lucky.