I Forge Iron

My Friend Vickki Needs Your Prayers

Woody

I received this Email from a an old friend from high school who got it from her friend Vickki, another classmate of mine from high school. Vickki is waging a courageous battle with cancer, she needs your prayers and encouragement.

"I wanted to let you know what was going on. Following are a couple paragraphs I've sent to others, including your brother. If you are in touch with some of the high school friends you may forward it if you want:

I am sorry to report I had a bad ct scan Feb. 1. Bad hardly covers this - it was/is so outrageous. Out of seemingly nowhere a large, very aggressive tumor was found in the left iliac wing of my pelvic bone. I had been doing it seemed so well for about 9 months; so this is a real dandy. Many tests and consultations later, I just finished 5 weeks daily radiation treatments to shrink the tumor as pre-op treatment. I'm expecting to do more tests in about 3 weeks, surgery somewhere 6 - 8 weeks from now unless something changes. The LMS already had me at nearly one out of a million; lms in the bone like this just isn't supposed to happen. So I am in beyond rarified air.

Fortunately the surgeon that helped invent limb salvage for sarcoma patients, Dr. Jeffrey Eckhard, is still alive and practicing and considered one of the top ortho oncology surgeons in the US - and he is right here at UCLA. He says he can remove the tumor, save the leg, but he has to remove half of the pelvic bone. He has a record of doing this surgery with very positive results, so I am on board as it is what I need to do to save my life.

One of the hideous things about leiomyosarcoma which is a malignancy of the soft tissue or involuntary muscle is an ability to show up/metastasize almost anywhere in one's body at any time. I know people who have been clear 7-8 years and suddenly it reappears in their lungs. It's really insidious. I had never considered it might go to the bone as all my