I Forge Iron

sword making. what steel to use?

wulfgar

Hello again to everyone:) My questions for the day can hopefully be answered. I am pretty new to smithing and my only guidence is a book written by Jim Hrisoulas 'The Complete Bladesmtih.' So what I am wondering is what is RCH? Also what is recommended as the best steel to use for making a functional sword. Would old leaf springs be a good choice? Do the stay strong and hold an edge? Or is there a better choice for steel to use for swords? Lastly, in his book he lists a steel called 'Vasco wear' which is something I've never heard of. Is it easy to obtain and is it good for sword making? Any advice at all is greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance.

i have a large machete and a monster bowie knife out of 5160 leaf springs from a truck, both work well and hold a pretty good edge. the vasco wear i hear is very hard to work with and if you are a new to blacksmithing i would suggest something simple like the 10xx
series of steels, or maybe o1 and 5160 are easy to work with.

Wulfgar, Put in a search for free books on the web in this forum. There is a thread in Blacksmithing that has links to google books online free. Between whats on this site and what's on there it will help you alot. I know this isn't the answer to your question but it may help you get over the begginners blues.
Travis

Wulfgar, BEST is a tricky concept; best for WHAT? Creating a hamon?, flexibility for a rapier or cavalry sabre?, easiest for a new person to work? Best "bang for the buck"? "Best" is meaningless without the details.

Would you be happy if we suggesed an alloy that would cost $10,000 and had to be worked in an inert atmosphere with computerized heating furnace---it might be "best".