I Forge Iron

Columbus, Oh Anvil

Hello all,

First off, I don't know if this is the right area of the forum for this, or acceptable for iforgeiron, so I appolgize if so.

I am a newbie trying to get into the craft and have been looking in my area (Columbus, OH) for an anvil with no luck for the past half year or so. So, I come to you fine people to ask if anyone in my area has any leads on an anvil. Been checking craigslist every day and not seeing much come around. My budget isn't huge, and I'm just starting out so I'm not looking for anything large or top of the line. Even if someone would have access to a nice piece of scrap that would work for me, that would be appreciated. I'm just looking to get into making small projects. Bottle openers, hooks, and the like. Possibly some knives later on.

Thanks for any information!

Nick

Columbus OH is fairly dripping with anvils what with there being 2 different anvil manufacturers there in times gone by. (Not to mention a third in Cleveland...) Look up the TPAAAT as it was Columbus where I proved it in!

When I left about 13 years ago I still was working on tracking down an anvil located in a sub-basement of the Hospital at OSU according to an Orthopedic Blacksmith who had been using it during WWII (and reported still in place by a Janitor decades later).  Also just going up and down the alleyways in German Village I saw an anvil in a back yard; but the owner was in Hospice and I chose not to bother the family.

I bought a couple through the south high fleamarket---by talking with folks as they were not on-site: 100# Vulcan in mint condition, still had the glued on label on it and a 515# Fisher in excellent condition.

Thanks Thomas. I had read the TPAAAT and planned on using that technique now that the flee markets are opening back up. I went to south high a couple times last year, but it was near the end of the season and not many people were still showing up. I'll try walking around the older neighborhoods too!