I Forge Iron

saw

On 6/28/2016 at 5:06 PM, jmccustomknives said:

Probably, but it would be slow going.  Better to use a metabo style slicer wheel on a grinder.  If you can get a real Metabo (they aren't cheap) it's well worth the investment.  Otherwise a good grinder and slicer wheel will be a lot faster.  Wear your safety gear.

All, 

I am looking at some chop saws on Amazon and I wanted to see what people thought about the best saw to get. As a hobbyist I will never "use up" one of these saws but some I have found are better than others. One is a Rage cold cut saw and I worry that I will mess up a $85+ blade on hard or thick steel. Any how, please let me know if going on band name alone because model number will be too much information let me know you thoughts. 

Thanks in advance.

Hitachi $159
DeWalt $165
Makita $168
Bosch $185
Evolution RAGE2 $188
Milwaukee $212
Metabo $219 

I picked up a Rigid on CL for 100, sold the diamond masonry blade on it for 40 and put it to use. There are 3 or 4 constantly listed on the local CL, at real good prices. Stop overthinking things and just grab something. (That's just me, though- YMMV)

Steve

Esseman, 

My advice- try to inspect the clamp mechanism.  the heavier duty the clamp and the table the steel sits on (really thin sheet metal here sucks) the happier you will be.  Also does the angle adjustment have a quick knob or does it require a special tool? Are the angle numbers readable?  Mine build up with gunk and i can barely turn the fence when i want to change angles nor read the angles.  Those types of things are what irritate me about my abrasive chop saw.