I Forge Iron

Gas Forge

ALWAK

Hello. my name is Al .I'm new at this& have been reading about building a small gas forge.There is a lot of designs out there to  sort through.Any tips would be welcomed .I live in Ak.so supplies are hard to come by.I do have tools and a place to work,just need to be pointed in the right direction, Thanks ,     Al,     Wasilla,Ak                                                                                                                                          

Welcome, Al- you've come to the right place, and even the right section of the site. Get yourself a cold beverage and a snack, and read this whole section on gas forges. Lotsa good info. Read it, read it again, then ask questions. I think most possible questions have been covered here. Once you've read the gas forge section, refresh your beverage and start reading the rest of the site. You're in luck- once Frosty chimes in, you'll find a font of info and bad puns right there in your neck of the woods. Welcome to the madness.

Steve

Welcome aboard Al, glad to have you. I live on Vine Rd. and a few other guys live close by. Wayne has good info and supplies for reasonable, we may do things a little differently but his info and method is sound.

If you'd like to come over PM me and we'll set a time. We can get you set up in a forge pretty easily once we know what you want to start with. You can play with my kit  and get some ideas.

The Association of Alaskan Blacksmith's next meeting is in Palmer Sept 24th. at Pat Garley's "Arctic Fires Bronze" studio. I don't know what demos are arranged, we'll come up with something if not. Meetings are open except club business of course, we usually have a couple few stations so you can get some time at the anvil. Were a pretty decent bunch and you're more than welcome.

Frosty The Lucky.