I Forge Iron

How much coal do I really need?

Dakota Dave

Hi all,

I have been using a gas forge for several months and enjoying it. I had picked up a coal forge and several hand crank blowers over the last year at farm auctions

and I finally have a large forge and champion crank refurbished and ready to go. The only thing stopping me from ordering coal is not having any idea of how much

I should expect to burn through how quickly. I'm sure as I get some time in I'll get more efficient with it. But I have no idea how much a #50 bag translates to in forge

time. Of course the more you get the cheaper it is. My shop is 14 x 24 so I can store a little bit. Thanks for the replies in advance!

Really depends  on you and the coal and what you are doing.   Really hard to say. I've always thought about 5 lbs and hour for my self. but never really measured it.   You will use less coal with hand crank than with electric blower. I always tried to keep the fire deep and no hotter than the working temperature of the metal I was using.  Blades will be hotter than mild steel and decorative twists.  Just my personal take

A pallet size container 4 feet deep is about a ton of coal. Fuel does not make the fire hot, air makes the fire hot. A hand crank is controlled by you and produces air as long as you crank. The faster you crank the more air produced and the hotter the fire. You should have a fire ball about 6 inches in diameter whether you are running the fire HOT or not so hot depending on your project.

Your coal / fuel usage will depend on how many BTUs you want from the fire.

Be sure you like the coal you buy. When I 1st started out I was given 4 big 55 gallon drums full of anthracite that came from the coal bunker in my buddies grandparents basement. Turns out that coal isn't very good for smithing, and I have bought good bituminous to use instead.