I Forge Iron

Need help with vice purchase, I'm a newbie

idahomutt

I am new to blacksmithing here in southeast Idaho. I have forge on order and I think I have a good line on a Anvil. I just saw this vice pop up on my local craigslist and I would like to know if any of you could identify it and  whether or not I should pass and wait a different one to come along. I mention it has a crack on the leg that shows in the picture is it worth repairing if the price is right? I 

Thank you,

Matt

00b0b_6DwXWp0mNqx_600x450.jpg

00P0P_ajMdXa5HUSx_600x450.jpg

Edited by idahomutt

Lets see the handle was a replacement, the mounting plate is missing, the spring is missing and the leg is broken.  Seems to be kind of high priced for it's condition to me.

If you are desperate for a postvise and the screw and screw box are in very good condition and you can make the repairs/replacements then...

Have you welded much wrought iron and so are aware of it's peculiarities?

On the other side of Idaho....that $ 100 bucks is a bit high for a vice in that poor condition.  If you can wait and are willing to keep your eyes open, you'll trip over another quite soon.  They are not too uncommon throughout most of Idaho.  

That vise looks to possibly be an Iron City , which is a good brand. Watch it, and see if it sells or not. If it doesn't make a low offer on it. I recently bought a 4.5" Colombian for $40 and it is complete, and in good shape. I probably could have got it for less than I did, as I found out later tha it was headed to the thrift store if I had not bought it. They were originally asking $100.  Vises are more common as they were used in many other areas besides blacksmith shops.  

As Big Gun says they were and are used in more than just blacksmith shops.  The last two I've bought, good shape, all the parts 5" for $40 & $45 were from Carpenter Shops.  Seen them in plumbing shops and auto service shops.  Take your time, $175 seems high to me as well.