I Forge Iron

First Tanto Knife WIP

senator

This is my first attempt at a tanto knife.  It has a flat grind due to the fact I do not have a fancy grinder.  I forged it as closely to shape as possible then hand sanded up to 320 currently. I am planning on a bronze finger guard  and a hidden tang covered in Acacia wood ( its what I have on hand ).  I used the Japanese clay method of tempering and am a bit surprised by how well the hazy hamon shows up even though its forged 5160.

fmn tanto.JPG

Looks more like it would be a drop point hunter with a funny ground tip. I have a question about the holes. Why did you drill that last one right next to the tang? I'm guessing you're planning on hiding it with the guard but I'm not sure.

"Tanto" sounds more catchy than drop point hunter with funny ground tip. The bronze finger guard will go around the last hole.  I am planning on brazing it on this evening.

Some of us have lived through that period where *every* knife was a tanto---like calling a viking seax a viking tanto.  Worse many of them had the terrible cold steel abrupt angular end on it which is not common on historical  tantos in Japan at all.

I can see your point. This is my version of a Tanto - esq blade.  I do agree with your comments about the "Cold Steel" angular ends...I do not like those.   Ill post up some more pictures as I get it further along and you can see how the last hole will be incorporated into the finger guard and handle.

I had a "Cold Steel" folder, pretty poor knife on all counts though I have to say the sharp corner between the straight edge and tip made it easy to sharpen. Now if you didn't have to sharpen it every time you used it it might've been a passable blade.

Frosty The Lucky.