I Forge Iron

Gas line worries....

NathanSmith

G'day blokes,

Sorry for sounding like a worry wart, but I've made a Frosty "T" burner (holy hotter then satan's butt), and it works really good. But Im just a bit worried about my gas line. 

I'm using what you yanks would call a 20 lb bbq propane bottle. I don't have a regulator. and just a ball cock valve neat the mig tip (about 10 inches away from it.

I am guessing this is a tad unsafe? 

May I ask what would the best thing to use to make it safe. I do intend to get a regulator before I turn it on again/

Thanks in advance for any advice :)

Cheers mates

*(I'm from Oz)

**(I'm new to gas burners)

***(I've only done a 6 second burn to see if it ignites).

If your asking, you already know the answer, lol. But as your still alive to post it was safe enugh, lol. Sorce a regulator, and a proper rubber propane rated line. My rig (comertial) goes, tank, tank fiting, regulator, rubber hose, gas valve and then burner. Either sorce a 100# bottle or a statinary home delivery tank (rubber line not required for the home dillivery tank)
I dont want my mate in Ferndale emailing me because he saw on the telly that some fool blew him self up with a forge, lol.

My shut off valve is at the top of the 1/8" nipple going into the tee burner. It has a plastic handle and doesn't get hot. My regulator with plastic gauge is above this. No problems. I do run the propane hose up before running over to the manifold mounted to the wall.