I Forge Iron

Smelting cup

Hello everyone I'm new to black smithing and smelting and I've stated on building my own foundry in my back yard and for some reason I can't find any information on what a crucible or the latel is made out of for melting steel. i live in Las Vegas so finding things shouldn't be so hard lol any help would be appreciated.

Another topic is I'm making my own refractory out of portland cement and perlite i need to know the right ratio for a forge to mix these to ingreidents. Thanks

May I commend to your attention backyardmetalcasting.com as a forum dedicated to foundry work and so perhaps a better place to get such information.

Please be aware that "smelting" and "melting" are radically different processes Smelting can be done without liquefaction of the metal as in the direct bloomery process. Smelting iron involves the exposure of iron ore to carbon monoxide at high temps and while it can be done with a crucible process; it generally isn't.

Welcome aboard Richard, glad to have you. If you'll put your general location in the header you might be surprised how many of the IFI gang live within visiting distance.

You really need to do some serious research. Casting steel isn't typically a home shop let alone a backyard activity and is more dangerous than juggling nitro. No joke. Portland cement refractory for a steel melting furnace is a recipe for disaster. Heck, what you describe won't work for a campfire pit.

I'm not trying to discourage you from learning either craft, but casting is NOT something to just wing. Even casting lead sinkers takes knowledge, proper PPE, shop/bench and equipment. Molten lead can cause crippling and disfiguring injury if you screw up.

Frosty The Lucky.

Richard,