I Forge Iron

Rust on newly waxed metal?!

Tiefer

So here's my problem: within 2-3 weeks of finishing things like hooks and bottle openers with wax I'm starting to see a light "dust" of rust on various places of the piece.  I am fairly new to this whole thing but thought it would take longer to see rust type stuff.  I'm not sure if I'm doing something wrong or just placed to much trust in my wax.  Here's what I've been doing... forge the thing, cool, wire brush with a wire wheel to a bright finish (no scale or rust left), heat the piece with an oven, propane torch or the coal forge, apply wax (the bees/turpentine/boiled linseed oil), let cool to warm and apply a second coat.  Seems to be kind of a standard thing but I didn't expect rust after a couple weeks.  Being in Western NC it is humid but am I missing something?  I would appreciate any suggesting and feed back.  I love useing the wax... its classic, has a great look and feel and smells great but am wondering if the rubbed black rustolium is the solution for at least the traditional look?  Thanks  

Greetings Tie,

Try just cleaning your work with a stiff brush ... Not to a bright finish... Some slag adds caricature ..  Heat in the forge and just apply pure bees wax.. This will put a thick coat and later after cooling wipe of excess..  This will yield a dull waxed finish that will resist rust..   Give her a try...

Forge on and make beautiful things

Jim

Try another wax, paraffin is tougher than bees and cools hard where bees wax stays tacky. Jphnson's paste is popular and a good durabe wax. My  preference is Treewax or there's a more contemporary carnuba, Bowling Ally wax. Carnuba sets hard, really hard, both these brand names were used to armor bowling allies being applied maybe 2x a year.

I wipe mine on just shy of smoking hot, it liquifies well and soaks into all the nooks and crannies for pretty water proof protection.