I Forge Iron

Bronze welding rod

yves

A client wants me to integrate 36 (1/4 inch diameter, 36 inches long) bronze welding rods which are covered in a flux in the design of a balustrade as a decoration.

The label on the tubes reads as follows : 

Altem superior Bronze. Heat nº 175.

I have two questions and a request :

1. Can someone tell me from the label quoted if this bronze can be forged. I have no experience with bronze but read here that some bronzes cannot and others cannot easily be forged. 
  2. If this bronze can be forged, how does one get rid of the flux?
  3. If this bronze can be forged, please give indications on the forging process : color of the heat and what type of reaction to expect or forged cold and annealed.

I have been through most of the appropriate topics I believe, but I'm still left with these questions. If there are answers already on here, please point to them.

Thanks,

Yves

Greetings Yves,

Remove the flux before forging..  A simple scraping will do with some light sandpaper after...  You can order them without flux so I would check with your supplier..  As to forging I have done many before and I will pass on my method ..  Forge at a dull red..  I prefer a dark room so that I can better see the color.. When the stock looses its dull red color STOP FORGING.. and reheat..  Your hammer will tell you also.. You will feel a thud and the material is ready to reheat.. If you continue to forge the bronze will crumble.  Try a piece and you will see..  I just do it by feel of the hammer..  Bronze adds some great elements in our work so have fun..  I wish you well

Forge on and make beautiful things

Jim

Hi Yves 

If you have any problems with the unknown bronze alloy ? Try Atlas metal sales in Denver 

they are great to work with .Silicon Bronze forges easily ,and do keep it in the dull red zone .

I forge alot of larger stock for handrails etc .You will enjoy it .Hope this helps 

Ironman,