I Forge Iron

Armitage mousehole anvil

This is my first post here and I'm trying to find out a bit about the anvil I just purchased. I've got the date between 1820-1835 per the ABANA forum, but was wondering if it is something I should use or display? It's right at 100lbs and looks to be in pretty good shape aside from the chunk taken out of the hardie hole (which is something I could easily fix if necessary since I'm a fair welder). I paid $200 for it, but feel a bit bad beating the heck out of something that's almost 200 years old... I hear there are a good number of these kinds of anvils about though, so maybe it wouldn't be as sacrilegious as I think? 

I'm not planning on doing anything huge or crazy, mostly knives and some artistic-ness. I do a lot of welding and sculpture out of recycled metals so figured blacksmithing is the next logical step...post-51562-0-99932200-1391624559_thumb.jpost-51562-0-28410400-1391624584_thumb.jpost-51562-0-22482400-1391624602_thumb.jpost-51562-0-59198100-1391624631_thumb.j

Welcome aboard, glad to have you. If you'll put your general location in the header you might be surprised at how many of the IFI gang live within visiting distance.

Put it to work, it'll be far happier doing what it was made to do. The only sacrilege I see is what was done to the hardy. I wouldn't worry about it too much though as long as the bottom tool's shoulder is wade enough to go beyond the injury. I probably wouldn't do heavy work on bottom tools on that anvil though I'd use the post vise, lay my swage block on it's side or make a portable hole.

That girl is in good shape and has a couple generations of work in her before she needs help.

A couple tips for the beginner: 1, Work HOT iron, the sound of the blows will tell you when it's time to go back in the fire.

2, Be careful NOT to hit the anvil with the hammer, especially the edges, chips aren't good things.