I Forge Iron

Pricing: 90# William Foster 1835

Here's another cheap/broke newbie trying to figure out if he should throw down $250 for this.  I am very new to blacksmithing but am quickly learning that it sure is nice to use the right tool for the right job; so I'm itching for a "real" anvil.  Anywho, could anybody comment on this anvil off craigslist?  It looks halfway decent, owner said there were not any noticeable cracks and had good 'ping'.  Not sure about rebound.  I've only been looking in the market for several weeks, so I'm not really sure how much or how cheap I should be looking for.  He's also about 2 hours away so it's helpful to know how close to the ball park he is.  FYI currently I am using a 60ish pound saw doctors anvil a friend is letting me hit on, (little scared I might should not), or a railroad tie, or a 3/4' steel plate (which by the way I will continue to be thankful for...so I'm not that picky either).  Thankyou for any input!

post-49491-0-23211300-1386795369_thumb.j

post-49491-0-79611700-1386795424_thumb.j

Greetings Tiefer,

It would help if you completed your location on your personal data..   In my opinion for 250 that's not much of an anvil..  If I were you I would keep my money and save up another 100 and buy a good anvil..  If you are new to blacksmithing you will soon learn the advantages of sharper clean edges and surfaces. I don't mean to rain on your parade but that's my 2c. 

Forge on and make beautiful things

Jim

I think the date is driving the price on that one; in most places in the USA that is not a "close to $3 a pound" anvil.  Personally I wouldn't pay $2 a pound for it.  Hunt for an undated anvil at a more reasonable price. 

*EXCEPT* if you are in a fur trade reenactment group where being able to prove the date on your anvil would get you bragging rights for authenticity, (even then I'd try to get the price down or more stuff thrown in for boot).