I Forge Iron

Help On Project Idea for school

Eagle

Hi,
I am a high school student In a Materials class which combines metal and wood shop. I am required to make a project which has 80 percent of one material and 20 percent of another (but does not have to be exact percents). I have access to a forge and anvil at home and would like to continue on learning even after my class is over. I would like to build something in my class to help me out in this hobby. Any help would be great keeping in mind my two materials the project has to include.

Materials that I can use include but are not limited to:

Metal
Wood
Concrete
Tile

I would like my prominent material to be metal and i would like to be able to forge it. I have no experience in forging but am willing to learn.
Any Help would be great!

Thanks,
Eagle

Go to IForgeIron.com > Lessons in Metalworking > Blacksmithing. The Lessons help the self motivated to learn now to get stated in blacksmithing.

IForgeIron.com > Blueprints are over 500 how to tutorials with step-by-step instructions.

Figure out what fuel you have available and build a forge to use that fuel. Ask questions early and often and the folks on the site will try to get you answers.

A coat rack with a square wooden post and forged hooks and feet. A shelf to hang near the door with a place to put hats on the shelf and forged brackets and hooks below. A CD rack with a "V" shaped wooden trough and forged feet and ends. I have also seen some nice iron and wooden bookends. Just look at some magazines and catalogs that show things that people use to decorate there homes and you will see lots of items made of wood and iron. Forging a hammer would be cool, but I would not have wanted to try that as my first project.