I Forge Iron

While watching a youtube video about making Damascus...

The fella in the video was spraying his billets with WD40 before they went into the forge for the first time. He was careful to spray both sides to get good penetration. He also quick fluxing after the second heat, said it wasn't required.

Why the WD40? Do any of you do this?

Dave

Lucky for us, youtube is very good about making sure of facts before allowing anyone to post. ;)   Everything I have been told and done; involves getting the billet as clean as I can.  Adding oils like the fish oils of WD-40 seems to counter that.   While I am sure it will help keep the air off the billet, I am not sure how it helps the weld, ask any welder about oily vs a clean surface.

Then again any engineer will tell you how on paper a bumble bee can not fly, and if we drive faster than 60 MPH we can not breath either.  I have never tried oiling my billet before forge welding,  nor do I plan too with out more information as to what is happening to the weld this way.

The idea is to keep air (which causes scale) away from the surface of the steel.  The oil flashes off and creates a layer of carbon, sealing the surface and burning out any O2.  Often in a dry weld (no flux) you spray the billet before sealing up the last welds.  WD40 works, superglue works, kerosene works (you soak the billet in it BEFORE putting it in the forge).  Often when makers are doing a can billet, they will squirt some oil in the can, or put a piece of paper in the can, to flash off any O2.  If you don't have exposure to air, you can't scale.

Geoff