I Forge Iron

Gas burner frustration, can I use BZ 8250 with propane?

Guest adhamh

Guest adhamh

Hi all,

I'm just getting start at this and I'm already frustrated with burners. I read http://zoellerforge.com/miniforge.html and I started to think this was the way to go.

Has anyone used a BZ 8250 with propane? Hardware stores appear to sell propane hose adapters which I think will allow me to connect this torch to my BBQ propane tank.

Basically, I just want to heat up some metal and start pounding it. I've been researching burners for a week and its gotten me frustrated. I'm on a budget so I can afford to buy a prebuilt fancy burner, and since I'm just starting out I think this small forge made out of 6" pipe will be plenty big.

Thoughts?

Any suggestions on anvils would be welcome too... I'm planning a trip to the junkyard tomorrow.

BTW, I haven't fully connected to the local blacksmith community and I don't have a lot of tools. (no drill press, and no welding equip.)

Can't find 'follow' on my phone UI, so I'll post :) if you can post a pic of your pipe forge the more experienced members can offer more specific advice. What kind of refractory/lining do you have in said pipe? Have you fired it up yet or are you feeling it out beforehand? Try running it off the fat boy it came with to see if the forge body will perform well before you invest more into your burner equipment.

Good luck :)