I Forge Iron

Opposite hand forging?

Wondering how many here have tried forging with their opposite hand for a while?

I had a shoulder injury and I'm trying to let things rest and heal for a while without doing too much too fast.

But of course I want to play at the forge, so why not give it a whirl with hammering using the opposite hand?

I've been a drummer for 30yrs now, so I think I'm somewhat ambidextrous. 

But what a world shift when actually doing everything you've been doing now using opposite hands!!

I'm sure it will get better quickly, but geez does that feel like a bumbling klutz in the shop the first time doing everything opposite....

It was not pretty.

I think this topic came up a while ago didn't it? IIRC the consensus was learning to use the other hand was good all round, both hand gained dexterity and feel. We gather a huge amount of information with our holding hand, whether directly or through tongs or the handle of a top or struck tool. Switching hands lets our brains develop the kind of high energy and split second control and accuracy the hammer demands in our off hand while letting our dominant had do the info gathering job of holding teaches that side of our brains.

It's a good thing, give it a try but do it long enough to develop skill with your handedness reversed.

Of course that's just my opinion I could be wrong. <grin>

Jer

Greetings Frog,

Ahh the lucky guys that can switch hands...  On a good day I can hold the stock with my left..  LOL   BUTTTTT.... I solved that problem years ago with a flypress and a treadle hammer..   As long as I'm kickin I'll be forging some way....

Forge on and make beautiful things

Jim

If you're a leftie it's easier to learn the switch. And lefties tend to be more inclined to be ambidextrous as things like sissors are made for the "rest" of the world :D !

I also might add that I agree with Frosty- He could be wrong! B)

Ian