I Forge Iron

Rounding Hammers

JMR

As a beginner I am still building up my collection of hammers. I have a few cross/ball pein hammers but I keep seeing a rounding hammer as the choice for a lot of blacksmiths. Can anyone provide more detail on the advantage of the rounding hammer and its uses? What hammer would you recommend?

Asking several blacksmiths any opinion will get you the exact oposite answer it is like the ford chevy dodge or politics.

I like a square faced hammer with a slight dome and use the edges tilted as the pien instead of a cross or strait pien hammer so a sounding hammer would work for me but I dont use one just dont use the pien.

You can draw out steel faster with a round faced hammer than a flat faced hammer.  You can also draw out just as fast with a flat faced hammer by forging with a rounded surface under the steel by using the horn.  The rounding hammer has a round face for drawing and a flat face for smoothing.  Peens draw out steel at 90 degrees to the peen.  I have several types of hammers I switch as needed.  There is no one size fits all hammer.

Wot you like now may change as you develop motor skills and body mechanics. A key point is that the shape of the hammer and anvil are working surfaces that move steel. Wot part of the hammer or anvil surface you choose will make a difference in how that steel moves. if you use and edge of the hammer or edge of the anvil or the horn or hardy tools..those shapes make different changes to the steel.

Take a few similiar steels about the same size and forge them using different edges on you tools and then compare and see wot works for you.

That said there are a really large number of smiths using rounding hammers that will not change,,,,and I add that maybe some of them would with more thoughts on the matter. For me I use one as a primary hammer and rely on other shapes for differnt tasks.

Check out this video!