I Forge Iron

Old arc welder

AJAX

post-23181-0-87282800-1334636164_thumb.jpost-23181-0-80968400-1334636181_thumb.jpost-23181-0-78889300-1334636193_thumb.jSo I got this old powr-Kraft 230 arc welder, it was never mine originally but I just got it and was trying it out the other day and at first it was just really harwell strike a weld with, and then when I finally did manage to get a bead going, I was surprised to see that after a while the the weld just broke right in half. I was only doing alittle butt weld. Not sure what happened, I know the rod sticking wasn't my fault because I have plenty of experience in welding. Some of the people I talked to said that it might be because I didn't get enough power but I know that My outlet isnt the problem. I tried turning the amps way past what the setting should be (I was using 7018) after my first few attempts. Anyways, I was just hopping some of you guys could help me figure it out and maybe offer a suggestion as to how I can fix my problem.
Thanks,

post-23181-0-24485800-1334636145_thumb.j

looks to me like no penetration. also are you welding mild? i don't believe it has a droped leg,but if you open her up be sure to UNPLUG IT :D ! but seriously if you open it up check the contacts,cooling fan and vents, leads(tightness and maybe pull off and shine em up) and all screws from plug in to stinger/ground clamp, also ac/dc setting...i'm just throwing this out there, i'm certeanly not trying to berate yout knowledge atall, but some times ya can't see the forest for the trees, good luck jimmy

Running too hot and too fast to allow the arc to 'dig'? Bead profile looks OK, just no penetration.

Edge prep & joint configuration? Vee out the groove and leave a gap equal to or slightly less than the thickness of the rod. (Zero gap equals zero penetration.)

Dirty metal? 7018 needs clean, dry metal. 6010 is more forgiving of rust and dirt, and is a fast freeze rod used for open gap root passes, before the 7018 hot and cover passes.