I Forge Iron

Spring Tool Joint Question

Why don’t spring tools have another joint in them? I’m new to this blacksmithing /power hammer game but it occurs to me there needs to be another axis of rotation in the top arm/tool half. In building and using these tools in my hammer, it’s clear to me when you make any kind of tool like this the top part of the tool is always getting hammered parallel to the bottom. This is in spite of the part you are forging prying the two apart and trying to force the upper half off on an angle. This puts a bending moment and high stress in the top part of the spring, right behind the point of attachment of the spring to upper tool half. This is the place the tools fail at when they do I’m guessing. If you are machining heat treating and then welding the tools to formed mild steel springs like I am, why not make a hinge in the upper spring just outside the die area. This would allow the upper half to pivot rather than bend the spring, right behind the weld joint. I think the joint/hinge would need to be long and made pretty tight to keep the upper tool from moving out of position relative to the lower half in that axis. What am I missing? Your thoughts please before I go off and waste a bunch of time making a tool like this, only to go…. DUH that’s why not ….? Yes I’d love to post a sketch of this but I’m still struggling with that whole picture posting deal and you are all smart enough to get what I’m asking anyway. Thanks again for spending your time, to answer my neophyte questions