I Forge Iron

Kinyon / Emmerling Style Hammer

Well got the build under way on the hammer that will replace my Old Broke LG50#. I placed the orders for a parts list I got from the Kinyon New style Mark II with the John Emmerling/Kean Randle head style. John said we could use his design, which I think has changed by now. This one will do me great for what I do now so, full steam ahead. I have been Blacksmithing full time since 1991 and for about 10 years before that part time. So I'm not a cherry about this but I always look for a better way so please make comments as you wish.
This friday I got some of the parts so this weekend I got most of the machine work done on the slide blocks, top and bottom pieces for the hamer part. I'm using Bronze bushing like John E. did and the rods are 4340 Ground and polished, they are a Rc26 so you can machine and drill on them.
The Rods are 2" dia the blocks are 2"x4x6 with a bore to fit a 2 1/4 bronze bushing with .001 press fit. If I need to open them up a little I will use a line bore hone. The top plate is 1"x4"x6" and and has 2"x.333 cut outs to accept the slide rods. The top plate has 5/8" holes to bolt the plate to the 5/8-11 threads that where put in the ends.
The Bottom plate has 2" holes all the way through and is 3/4"x4"x6" and will get plug welded so the top die block which is 6"x3.5" round 1045 steel, can be welled to the hammer head bottom plate. I will press in the bushing tomorrow and put most of it together so you can see how I plan to do this. I weighed the parts less the rod to weld it and it will be about 100# so that will be great.
Thanks
CH
post-23514-0-88804900-1327968097_thumb.j
post-23514-0-18779800-1327968204_thumb.j
post-23514-0-52403400-1327968286_thumb.j

John's name is spelled Emmerling. I saw a video of his hammer, it looks like a nice tight guide system. I think you've got a really good start on your build.