I Forge Iron

noob anvil questions and ideas.

Okay so im a newbie at anvil selection. I've worked on anvils owned by others but never owned my own.
so first off, what effect does weight have on an anvil?
whats the advantage of a big or small anvil?
some extra input is I forge blades and decorative pieces as well as random tools and accessories. i seldom work anything thicker than 3/8" or longer than 14"
I've been doing great on rail track, and have recently purchased a 23 1/4 inch tack section, and if i decide to spend the money a six foot section. i've considered cutting the piece i have in half and welding the two pieced back together side by side, trimming the base section so the top edges will sit flush with one another, and welding it together. then since i have rods to burn welding the valley up and grinding it flat. so i would in effect have 6" by 11 3/4" ish working surface.
as far as weight if more is better i could weld a plate one end of my doubled rail section and pour this 150 pound slab of lead i have into it for the weight.
i dont have enough cash to spare for an anvil at the moment since im in the middle auto repair bills but i do have the rail the lead and tons of other scrap around my house and shop to make one for the cost of a few gallons of elbow grease.
and thank you guys in advance for suggestions advice and better ideas than what i already have.

Sell the lead and buy a large hunk of scrap steel---say a piece of an old bulldozer or the broken knuckle off a RR car. Far better to buy a single hunk than to try to cobble something together.

Really if you have that much time and rod to burn you could probably do some welding for other people and BUY a great anvil in cash! Talk to your auto repair place and see if they would like a work bench welded up for them from your scrap on hand!