I Forge Iron

I have recently purchased what I believe is a forged anvil. The face is slightly concave and I had read somewhere that it was possible to flatten it out and have a steel plate welded to it. I am new to this, so forgive me for not offering all of the necessary details. If more information is necessary, or even pictures, I will be happy to provide.

If this is do-able, what thickness and type of steel would be best for the job?

Howdy from East TEXAS!! and welcome to IFI! If you would, go to your profile page and edit to include your location. This way we could probably direct you to someone "just up the street" from you. Or at the very least an ABANA group in your general area.

As to the weld a steel plate on your anvil....WAIT!!!! we will need to see pictures first. You state the face being slightly concave, that is not a bad thing, it allows you to be able to straighten your work easier....most metal has 'memory', meaning if slightly bent it will return to it's original state. So if you bend it a little past where you want it to go then it will be closer to straight....makes sense? Most likely your anvil will only need to be used! :D Take a hammer and tap on the face of the anvil to check the rebound. Rebound is what you want. It's like the anvil is throwing the hammer back at you.

Pictures of the face, both sides, front/rear, and bottom will help us identify you anvil.

Glad you are here and once again, welcome, enjoy your new addiction!!! :P

Thanks for the warm welcome! I have updated my profile accordingly. I will try and get some pictures in the morning before work, as I will probably get home after dark today. I have joined our local blacksmith association, which meets once a month.

How much rebound am I looking for? Let's say I hold the hammer about 6 inches above the face of the anvil and drop the weight of the hammer on it? What should I expect?