I Forge Iron

cow bells

Picture of your plan would help, is it folded sheet metal to shape or forged to shape, ????

If you have a plan, execute it and solve the problems as you go. All projects are a journey, and each journey consists of single steps, its just deciding which step to take and execute next as you progress toward the destination.

thats always good advice john - advice i should take myself more often! nothing like starting to actualy work on a problem for finding the solution. i would like to make a bell too, post us what you end up doing glen :)

Many years ago, ... in one of the "Foxfire" publications, ... I read a very complete description of the "Cow Bell" process, using material from steel drums. ( barrels )

There was info on tempering and tuning, as well as the "nuts & bolts" of shaping the bell.

I'm sure a "Google" search of "Foxfire Cow Bell" would locate the article.

I am no expert but just for general info I can tell you that harder materials will make louder and higher tones with more "ring". That seems right for bells but cow bells have often been made of copper which tends to give a clunky tone not too loud... I think because that is exactly what people wanted. Higher carbon steel (likely what you'll have from a shovel) will ring well and especially if you heat treat it so that it is fairly hard. That might be annoyingly loud for a cowbell though. Remember that the cow has to live with that ring at CLOSE range 24/7! Brass is also sometimes used and tends to give an intermediate ringing effect. As far as tuning I am clueless other than these extreme basics. I know that experienced makers will often file the edges to get their tones adjusted and maybe even thin and/or work harden by slight hammer work after assembly is complete.