I Forge Iron

Blacksmith shop for Father

Hello All, I am not nessisarilly into blacksmithing but I am hoping you all will help a fellow Blacksmith. My father has been talking for years about building a blacksmith shop but he never will for various reasons. He is now operating in the back corner of a working farm garage, which is inconvinient at best. He retires this week and will have much more time to spend in the new shop. My 4 brothers and I have decided to build him a new shop but we need input on size, ventilation and layouts. We have a little to start with, he talks about post and beam construction with T&G sheathing. Dirt floor which I plan to use Crusher Dust. Large double doors on one end. We are thinking 12x16? He has an anitque forge with hand blower it is about 3 1/2 feet wide and 2 1/2 feet front to back. From there I am lost, and need help. 3 of 5 of us boys are carpenters by trade so construction details are no problem, we just want a functional, comfortable workspace for him. If anyone can help us out we would appreciate it.

Thanks
The Tessier Boys

Any size will work, it just depends on what he wants to make. I currently am using my backyard shed. It is about the same size as a single car garage. This space is shared with another blacksmith, and all my yard tools. But then again I don't make large pieces. I have a single car roll up door and a 12x20 window for ventilation. And my forge chimney runs out the window! (both are removable)
Most of us never get the chance to design a shop, we just kind of carve out what ever space we can find.

My advice for all it is worth is, "keep it simple". By that I mean ask your father what he wants if he could build a smithy.