I Forge Iron

Hesitation when Starting?

Hi IFI,

I am researching and studying career stuff right now (for personal, and for presentation in class).

I would like to ask:

-How did you find your interest in metalworks (or your calling, if other)?
-Did you hesitate to follow through with it, and if yes, what were the reasons?
-What hardships did you have to endure when you chose it? What easyships (?) were you blessed with?
-Have there been any things you have regretted, such as other paths you were considering, or due to any shortcomings of this path you chose?

Thank you in advance - I really appreciate your time and thoughts!

-Don Nguyen

To answer your questions briefly;

My freshman year in highschool I dropped out of band and the only open class was metal shop 1 at the end of that class we learned how to oxy-acetylene weld at that point I new what I wanted to do for a living.

Never hesitated never changed my mind.

Not going to Alaska in my early 20's

I started into a 4yr sheet metal apprenticeship in 1976 and worked at that trade for over 15 yrs. Along the way, I learned to weld. So when I had a chance to become a production welder in a small factory, for better pay, I jumped at it. I was always interested in working with my hands and during my sheet metal and welding careers, started working with heating metal with an O/A torch and pounding out some things that I wanted to make. My only regret is that I didn't get a forge and anvil when I was in my 20s. :D

Choose a job you love, and you will never have to work a day in your life. Confucius

I have had many jobs in my life; dishwasher, 20 yrs military, 14 yrs Dot, odd jobs, etc...

Had a few I liked, none I loved, been working ever since.

But, since I have started blacksmithing, I have found a hobby I truly enjoy. Had I found this when I was a young man and turned it into a career, I could possibly have been able say that I had never worked a day in my adult life. I'll never know.