I Forge Iron

Is it Ok to use regular Home Depot Rebar for projects?

I was looking at Home Depot (big box hardware store for anyone that doesn't know) and they sell 12" long x 1/2" round rebar for under $1 each. Is it considered acceptable to use them for small projects like stocking hooks, towel holders, coat hooks, etc?

I am Very very new to all this, but am excited to get started, provided I can find affordable materials close to me...

To my knowledge rebar isn't a solid graded steel...it can be composed of a real hard end, a semi-brittle other end, and a soft center.
To play with and make small things out of I don't see a problem but for more serious things I would stay clear of rebar.

The type home depot sells may be different than industrial construction rebar, not sure.

For practice and based on proximity to me, I don't think $1 per stick is bad at all. Even if it is slightly questionable material. I am just learning. And I'm not trying to sell these... Plus, I have a custom spring shop that gives me 5160 for free, but its 1.75" x 1/4" x 16" and I am looking for something roundish.

use freely, but do not quench from a critical heat, unless you want a hard (or brittle) end product. SOME rebar has higher carbon than mild steel. It varies alot.

when you get to the end of your project, let the thing cool slowly from a red heat. should be nice and tough.
In fact, you may want to test the hardening properties by heating beyond magnetic, quenching, and test-breaking in a vice. BE CAREFUL!!!
If it breaks, it's hard; if it bends, its soft. You do not want brittle hooks.

read up a little on heat treating and material properties.:)

not knowing where you are at I can't make a suggestion on where to get better cheaper steel.Here in a small town in NM I buy it from a traditional windmill sales and service company.

I used to get A-36 in that exact size *free* from a moderate sized ornamental iron fab shop back in ohio.