I Forge Iron

New smith, looking for book recommendations

gonefishin

I'm just getting into the craft and to put it simply, I know nothing of it yet.

I am going to be seeing someone who kindly offered to show me the basics and get me started, but books never hurt. I'm just looking for good book recommendations for someone like me (completely knowledgeless :lol: )

I've seen the "Backyard blacksmith" and plan on picking that one up, but what about "the complete modern blacksmith"? I've heard that book really focuses too much on grinding and has nothing to do with blacksmithing, would this really be worth the money especially since I'm a beginner (not even a beginner yet). What does grinding have to do with blacksmithing?

download CoSIRA (RDA) books free from this site http://www.hct.ac.uk/Downloads/craftpublications.html

These books are excellent for beginners and beyond, from basic tools and techniques through to designs well worth the price (and effort)

The book that helped me get started was "Plain and Ornamental Forging" by Ernst Schwarzkopf. It was reprinted in 2000 AD.

There is an out-of print book that I think is the best to come on the market in fairly recent years: "Werk und Werkzeug des Kunstschmieds" (Work and Tools of the Artsmith); ISBN 3-8030-5040-5, 1981 AD. Lest the German title deter you, each printed page is in German, French, and English, so there is no need to attempt translating. The author, Otto Schmirler, was brought up in his family's smithy in Vienna, Austria. He became the chief designer for the firm, and his how-to drawings and photos are throughout the book.

I have found http://www.dealoz.com to be one of the premier book finders.

http://www.turleyforge.com Granddaddy of Blacksmith Schools