I Forge Iron

Recent YouTube inteview

Thanks for sharing, and for your commitment to historical accuracy . Very informative, and entertaining as well.
My back kills me after a day on concrete floors, do those shoes alleviate that issue? If so, I must make a pair.

(The Math Dude scares me)

Thanks for the compliments.
I have been wearing wooden shoes in my for over 20 years (not the same pair though.) I had thrown out something about them previously,not sure where they are in the archives. I prefer them over any work shoe, work boot or walking shoe I have ever tried. These are made in Holland. I used to be able to get some from a factory in Holland, Michigan until they closed a few years back. My legs and back are in much better shape at the end of the day than with any other shoe, they have a great arch support. I put iron "shoes" on them to slow down wear. I can normally get several years out of a pair if I replace the "shoes" when the wear down to the wood, about once a year. The pair in the video have broken on the tops from drying out and me twisting in them. This is the first pair that ever did that. Glued them back together and put a steel top on one, might do that to the other. I have a new pair, I oiled these a couple of times with linseed and may paint them as I have done with others. Not good for walking, great if you stand in one place all day. I am also wearing welders' spats with these. I have had troubles with scale falling onto the top of my foot, especially while running the power hammer. I wear these all year round with a pair of cotton socks and a pair of heavy rag wool socks, no other padding as I used to try to pad the tops. They are cooler in the summer and warmer in the winter as my feet can really breath. When it has been really cold and my office heat was off or way down, it would appear as though steam would rise off my feet when I slipped them out of the wooden shoes. I have pour circulation in my hands and feet, they are either hot and s