I Forge Iron

Don't tell my wife

WooHoo. I'm excited! I found an anvil. Picked it up yesterday. Thanks to Mike for throwing in 3 bags of coal, a box of railroad spikes, and 2 tongs. I have a white oak tree stump all ready to cut to height & strap down the anvil. It's 120lbs and in pretty good shape. See the pictures.

Anvil004.jpg

Anvil002.jpg

I can't wait to start banging on some metal.
Les

Send check for $10,000 and I won't tell on ya. Nice find. Trenton? Enjoy.
Ken.

Checks in the mail.
I don't know the brand. There is something stamped on it but I can't read it. Maybe when I clean it up the stamped lettering will be more legable. Now to hit the pawn shops to find some more hammers.
Since I'm new to this can I ask a question? Is rebar a good metal for blacksmithing? I work in construction and have access to a lot of steel like wide flnges, tube, rebar, flat sheet, angle...
Les

Toolles,
Nice anvil. FYI, I have discovered the key to getting new purchases past the wife...to do this, you will need to first achieve CRITICAL MASS. That means that you have acquired enough stuff in your shop so she doesn't even notice the new stuff coming in. Be prepared to take some heat initially while you are achieving the critical mass necessary. My wife was in the shop a couple weeks ago and didn't even blink an eye at the new power hammer sitting front and center right next to the old one. I knew at that moment that I had indeed achieved critical mass. Life is good, now where's that 3B...;)
-DB

Hey, what you using for a forge? :blink:

I'm still working on getting or building a forge. I plan on using the rose bud tip until then.