I Forge Iron

When I lived in Denmark all the guys in the shop wore em. They're comfy and you can get steel toed ones which aren't as clunky as boots. I personally prefer taller boots for hot scale falling on my feet and the occasional pant leg catching on fire.

i swear by clogs but not in the workshop - very good for your back etc if you get good wooden soled pair. only downer i can think of is theyre a bit noisey but that hardly matters in a forge does it:) actually i have seen some wooden soled boot clogs.... that would solve the burning legs thing....

I can't find the posts I have previously made about me wearing wooden shoes in my shop. I have for years and highly recommend them. Last spring I was told about welder's spats, they look and work better than old boot tops. I have been wearing wooden shoes in my shop since the early 1980's. They have built in arch support and are comfortable enough for me that when I know I will be standing all day, I want to be in my wooden shoes instead of my expensive work shoes or work boot. I find them warmer in the winter and cooler in the summer.
post-739-12700015027946_thumb.jpg

In 1985 I was in Aachen Germany at the International Center for Metal Design studying under Manfred Bredohl. I went to Liege Belgium a number of times to the museums. One was on firearms and had an excellent display on the making of Damascus Gun Barrels. The last production shop forge welding Damascus barrels was in 1925. I have photos of the smiths at a coal forge with bellows and their leather shoes are set aside and they are working in wooden clogs.

The only thing your gonna get out of a pair of 25 year old boots is feet, leg, knee and back trouble.