I Forge Iron

Cracks in forged piece

I am relatively new to forging and/or heat treating.

I am getting cracks in the finished forging.

I am using pieces of automotive coil springs about 5/8 diameter, and working on a coal forge and am working the piece at cherry red.

I allow the piece to cool down till it's just barely showing any color and then quench in water, a little at a time. What I mean is that I plunge about two inches into the water and then in and out of the water a little less and/or a little more than the two inches until it's black.

Then I polish of the tip with a carbarundum stone and watch the tempering colors as they progress down the piece toward the cold end.
When the cooler end reaches straw color I plunge the whole piece into the water .
What should I do to avoid these cracks.

I understand that oil is a preferred quenchant but I am working as a guest at another person's forge and he doesn't want to use oil.

Thanks

Dick B
Thanks

Dick, could you please explain to us your entire heat-treating routine? It may be that you're not being explicit but it seems like you're missing several key steps. Exactly what effect are you trying to achieve? What item/object are you trying to make? More detail will help us generate a more pertinent response. Remember that used springs could will have existing but invisibly small cracks in the steel and the shock of quenching may make them expand.

If you have a oil hardening steel, water can kill it, period. as for tempering/quench, WSB2 may not understand that it is needed to stop over-heating the tempering portion. And dont forget that used springs may already have had the cracks from prior use.

Edited by steve sells

Why are you quenching it? That is probably what is leading to the visible cracks. Just forge it, lay it aside and let it cool naturally.

I am making some tools including a center punch, a chisel, and some hardy tools, so they have to be hardened.