I Forge Iron

Getting desperate for inspiration!!

Some would say I'm in a really great possition and I couldn't disagree. However, I've been working at putting this together for about 15-20 years and I'm feeling like the my drive is waining.

My shop setup has become what I have always dreampt about. I can forge steel, power hammer rebuild is almost done. I will have a furnace for casting bronze in the next couple months. Welding is no problem. I can turn wood, spin metal vesals, make pulleys on the metal lathe, mill elongated holes and new dies for the power hammer. I can cut wood into any shape or form I want. I can vacuum press or hydrolic press any shape I want. Sad thing is, now that my shop is set up to do all this work, I'm at a loss. For the life of me, I can't decide what I want to make or do.

I have been a General Contractor for the last 10 years. Before that I was foreman and lead fabricator for a wood furniture shop. Before that I built highly custom furniture while I was putting myself through collage for a degree in art and business.

For the last 6 months, while outfitting the shop I've been trying to figure out what I want to do when I grow up and I still can't decide:confused:

I'm pretty good at selling myself but I'm not inspired.

What do you guys do when the fight is leaking out of you and you feel like throwing in the towel? (read that as selling everything and my wife and I using the proceeds to work on our tans):)

It is difficult, if not impossible, to find the root of your issue and identify where you are at in life over the Infernal-net. I have watched *many* people come and go from blacksmithing for over 35 years. Some get frustrated with their skill limitations, some get bored, some discover that blacksmithing was not their interest after all. Different people have different reasons.