I Forge Iron

first time post/anvil salvage questions

I have been a lurker on this site for a couple of months as I am new to forging I never had anything to say. A friend of mine found an old abused bridge anvil on a ranch he worked on. I wanted to ask the experts two questions

1) Can this anvil be fixed?
2) What will it take?

I will give you a list of what I have at my immediate disposal or can get from friends or the father in law that I think could help me fix this thing.
Three large coal forges, a 2003 model Licoln Ranger welder, several grinders, sanders, cutting torch and any kind of welding rods I might need. A fairly reasonable selection of thick plates of steel for shoring it up.

I hope the list helps because I just make knives and small axes so this anvil, if working properly will be all I will need for a while until I get better.

At the risk of sounding like a total newbie, thanks in advance and I have really enjoyed reading this site.

13012.attach

13013.attach

13014.attach

13015.attach

13016.attach

i would hit the surface with a belt sander and see how bad it looks .. it might not be tobad.. it will work in a pinch as it is...if you need a square corner make a hearty tool with one...looks like it was used to cut something with chizels .. how hard is it? for knives and axes it will work might add a little "texture" to the blade but your probably going to be grinding anyway so not to big a deal .. if its a little soft those chizel marks will close up as you use it ...good luck!

Welcome to IFI, mjollnir!

That anvil looks fine to me. A shame about the chisel-cuts but still usable. Heck it has a hardy-hole and that's more than most did until about 300 years ago! If you want a crisp edge you can make a hardy-tool for that purpose. As you learn hammer control you'll probably be dinging-up your anvil's face whether you start with an abused bridge anvil or a $1000+ Peddinghaus, Euroanvil, Brooks etc.