I Forge Iron

What can you make from saw-chain pattern welding

I have been working on saw chain pattern welding for a few years now and I have been trying to understand how to control the patterns you end up with. Well, I have finally achieved some measure of control.

I have made knives from these billets but it was at the early stages of my understanding and I wanted to move on to much more control of the pattern. So, I have (I think) achieved some measure of understanding and control.

My latest attempt was to make a cold work hammer and stump anvil out of saw chain. You will notice that the pattern on the hammer is straight lines on two sides of the billet and a symmetrical pattern on the other two. The pattern on the anvil got away from me in the forging but I’m still OK with the way it came out.

The hammer was made from 4 chains and the anvil was made from 5 chains.

There is 5160 welded to the hammer head and to the anvil top.

post-3873-0-26033700-1311783404_thumb.jp

post-3873-0-14520700-1311783432_thumb.jp

post-3873-0-03054700-1311783452_thumb.jp

post-3873-0-68085800-1311783497_thumb.jp

post-3873-0-33508400-1311783525_thumb.jp

post-3873-0-20218500-1311783555_thumb.jp

post-3873-0-45238400-1311783571_thumb.jp

post-3873-0-99578100-1311783582_thumb.jp

post-3873-0-67957500-1311783594_thumb.jp

Extremely impressive work. You should be proud of those. What's your technique for holding the 5160 on the flat face while you heat it for the weld? Or do you heat separately and join them at the anvil? (I always ask this question when I see that sort of weld. :))

Thank you all for your kind words.

Matt, the way I was tought by Randy McDaniel was to make prings on the base metal and drive them into the face metal. But what I did was just make a small tack weld with my MIG and then ground it off after the forge weld was complete.

Very impressive. fantastic work. Wish I could discuss the process with you over a beer someday.