I Forge Iron

How to make coke?

HI all,
New here, I've been hitting hot metal for a couple of years- just got the urge, and did it, which means I don't know jack, 'cep I can get the metal hot enough to whack with a hammer...

Anyway, I found this forum, and have maybe a stupid question... does anyone make their own coke? I mean, in an oven, separate from what makes itself in the forge.

I live in Utah, and we have real good coal here, easy to come by. I heat my shop with coal, and find hot coke in my coal stove most mornings when I come in for work. I'm tempted to just use my stove to make coke for the forge, but wondered if anyone has messed around with making coke in any quantity, tips for doing so, etc.

Don't bother googling "how to make coke", unless you want to learn how to make drugs. Sheesh...!

Most blacksmiths use the edge of the forge fire to continuously make coke as it is needed for the fire. Fire maintenance is keeping burning coke in the fire pot, coal being converted to coke around the fire, and green coal on the outside edge. With good fire maintenance there is little smoke produced and that is consumed by the fire.

What you may want to search for is industrial coke.

The main difference between breeze (forge made coke) and commercial coke is it's density.

Commercial coke is made in an enclosed oven or more properly an enclosed casing in an oven. The casing keeps the coke from expanding like it does in the forge or your stove so it's considerably denser. This is the stuff you can buy that's harder to light and keep going.

So, the short answer is, Yes, you can make your own Coke. Use a method similar to retorting charcoal (indirect method) but make the container of heavier steel and with a way to open an entire side and end or you'll have the devil of a time getting the big lump out. Then you need to mill it to size to use.