I Forge Iron

Greetings from Old Blighty!

Dave Budd

Another British member here (I know him as Matt.S on another forum, not sure of his name here?) invited me along, so i thought i should start by saying hello and introducing myself

My name is, yep you've guessed it, Dave Budd (I couldn't use a silly name, I would only forget!). I live on Dartmoor in Devon (England) and I'm a fulltime knife and tool maker, though I also run courses in a variety of ancient crafts such as greenwoodwork, leatherwork and bowmaking. I work entirely in my 10 acre woodland, with any forge related courses using my archaeologically correct Iron Age forges. My day to day work is done in my 'modern' workshop, which is primarily solar powered though I do have a (dodgy) old Lister generator as a back up.

I'm self taught so the variety of things that I forge is limited to what I need to make. So it does mean that when it comes to general blacksmithing and particularly artistic forgework I'm not as fluid as I would like. Mind you the only general forgework that i nned to do is for my own use and twiddly bits that I make at shows. Otherwise I focus my efforts on my bladesmithing

a couple of examples maybe...

1GreenMan2008Basicla.jpg
my normal sorta thing:

2Cleavesdesirela.jpg
something a bit posher, coz I have to show I can

3minigroupsm.jpg
Somthing a little, well, little! (all forged spring steel, all heat treated and I started to sharpen them too)

4bigbowie1.jpg
oh, ok, something for you Americans A 10" bowie next to my dog Saxen

Well, that's me. Be gentle?

Welcome aboard Dave.

There's lots of interest in ancient forges and equipment here and other places. I'd sure like a look at your iron age forge and tools.

I used to do quite a bit of field expedient forging, making my set up from whatever was available and as fancy as time on location would allow. I like comparing how I did things with how they were done in ages past.

Frosty

thanks for the warm welcome folks :)