I Forge Iron

Hi everyone

Hows it going everyone.

I'm looking to get into blacksmithing. I live in Fort mill, sc and i was at the renaissance festival this weekend and met a blacksmith who made all kinds of things. Ive always thought about blacksmithing but i thought it was lost in time. Ive tried to make fires before and forge a sword but i didn't have the equipment. If there is a good way for me to get into smithing please give me some suggestions. I need to know how to get a forge, and all the equipment to start off. Thanks for the help guys.

Hello there,

Let me be the first to say a sword isn't a good place to start, and with that said don't be disheartened. I'm new to Blacksmithing as well and I can say from experience getting the tools you need to get yourself going is easy. Check out the BluePrints on this site for forge designs most can be built out of materials that readily come to hand. Once you have the forge sorted somethign to hammer with and something to hammer on (doesn't need to be an anvil it can be a piece of steel bar providing it's thick enough and anchored well) and you're ready to go.

Now where do you want to go... if you only want to do blades then I recommend you maybe try making a knife only using material removal, you don't even need any of the above tools to do that althoguh the forge could be handy for treating the finished knife but if you want to get into blacksmithing propper then think in terms of smithing trinkets S-hooks appear to be the favourite but you get the idea.

More importantly, have fun!

Welcome aboard Jwood.

Competently making a sword is the product us years of practice, not a beginner's project. I'm not trying to discourage you, just the opposite. Nothing will kill the spirit like biting off more than you can chew right at the beginning, especially when the bite is more than many experienced smiths couldn't chew.