I Forge Iron

Amateur Chisel Making

I didn't expect this topic to be here. I'm a sometimes amateur guitar maker, sometimes amateur woodworker and often amateur toolmaker with a nod mostly toward wooden planes and chisels in the pre-1900 English styles because those are the ones I like most when actually working wood. 

I've mostly tapered flat stock at the anvil and then forge welded on a steel bolster to my chisels - they're always all steel and not wrought with a welded bit or anything, heat treated by eye. But I am pretty serious about that - about trying to beat the book stats on tested samples and shrink grain so that hardened samples are finer than commercial stuff of similar alloy. it also has some advantages in terms of how the chisel is hardened through the business area (the first half of the length) and then up through the shoulder and tang vs. furnacing the entire chisel and quenching or not quenching parts. I understand that it can be contentious to claim you're good at heat treating in a way that's now seen as unconventional - or at least have learned that, but I think it was probably a bit more typical when most of my favorite tools were made. 

Most of my chisels have been in 26c3 solely because it is relatively easy to use to make a good chisel and in wood, it holds up better than anything commercially offered. But I'm moving to draw the metal out by hand out of rod at least for some things to have the chisel be entirely one piece.  

I'm not a pro, but I try to make things well enough that it's not apparent that I'm not. 

g4t36uU.jpg

EeaLfaP.jpg

CTxtEgO.jpg

Beautiful work Dave. I think your fascination with the integral bolster shows well in the results. Given your introduction I'm assuming you probably turned the handles and made the ferules as well. Are the ferules sheet brass, silver soldered or turned from solid? Chisels for wood are another thing on my lengthy to-do/interest list...

--Larry