I Forge Iron

Introduction and First Thread (a question)

Rank Badjin

Good day to everyone. I am not the forger in the family, that would be my youngest boy. But he often comes to me for advice and as a retired engineer, I do my best. I read a lot on the topic to stay up on tools and methods and rely heavily on posts from people like yourselves. Thanks for being here!

Now for the question...he currently has a small single burner propane forge that I bought him for Christmas a few years ago. While suitable for low-carbon and mild steel, it does not get hot enough and is not really large enough for higher quality steels and larger projects. We live in a dense suburban area and the idea of building a "stealth" charcoal/coal forge came to me. I can construct an "outdoor grill" designed to hold a slide out firebox, similar to the JABOD featured in several threads on this forum. He is an accomplished welder and more than capable of building the firebox and tuyere himself...I just need advice on how big the JABOD would optimally be so that I can space the supporting bricks appropriately.

The brick "grill" itself will look basically like this with some added fire brick facings in certain areas.

1077703879_BrickForgeorGrill.jpg.c814d5f17648cfc7368d0b3c9d5bb6e9.jpg

I can adapt this for either side draft or bottom draft and could conceivably make the bottom table out of castable fire cement for added safety. When not in use as a forge, remove the forge firebox, put a grill grate on it...and presto! What forge? There is no forge here...

Rank

Welcome aboard Rank, glad to have you. Has your boy joined the forum? We have lots of youngsters aboard, some pre-teens and up to old folks like me and older. He'd really benefit from reading the bladesmithing sections here, we have a number of world renowned and published authors aboard.