I Forge Iron

New to the Forum

FatBadger

Good afternoon,

First of all, thanks for having me. I'm new to the whole processes with only 7 Months since I was introduced to metal working of any kind. I believe I've read the appropriate pages on the do's and don'ts. I'll do my best to steer clear of any problems for you all. 

Thanks, 

You don't want to heat more than you can forge before it gets cold.  Viking forges often had a 6" hot spot for making swords!  Heating more degrades the metal and wastes fuel, so I suggest you build a smaller 2 burner with a pass through and save the big one for heat treating.

Lol, I’d say You definitely still won in this situation! 

those Buffalo grills are few an far between,

I can find a Buffalo rivet forge any day of the week but not so trying to find one of those old Buffalo grills, 

they have a small following and are probably worth more than a dusty rusty ol farmers rivet forge is, 

I built a small 15” pancake forge that I call the tiny Buffalo, last summer using a blower and tuyere pipe off one of those, 

but I wouldn’t do that to yours! 
because like I said it’s probably worth more as a collectible, 2AABF721-56EC-4198-B637-A1D7110E6F03.thumb.jpeg.5b899cfd4227d59fd6732670e737d469.jpeg

Welcome aboard Fat Badger, glad to have you. Don't try too hard not to make mistakes or we won't have anything to talk about. 

Even if that's really a BBQ it'll still work as a forge. Pack an inch or so of damp clayey soil around the air grate to shield the pan and it'll last quite a while. At least long enough to find of build another. 

I think TW needs to call those nice little forges Buffalo Calf forges.