I Forge Iron

How thick should my fire pot be?

Vithonil

Hello guys,

I am new to this whole thing and wanted to start by welding my own forge together. I have bought 5mm thick steel to make my firepot out of and after my initial research, that seemed to be fine, but after stumbling across more videos (which all appeared after I ordered, of course) I am not so sure about it.

What do you guys think?

Best wishes!

No, no, NO! Plaster of Paris and sand is a LOUSY forge material: the plaster degrades before it even gets to forging heat, and the resulting spalling can send hot debris in unfortunate directions.

You could in theory add a lining of rammed clay to the inside of the firepot, but it would be such a thin layer that it would break apart pretty easily. You would be much better served by getting some thicker plate for the firepot itself and using the 5mm for the forge pan.

All that said, welcome to IFI! If you haven't yet, please READ THIS FIRST!!

Hi, I fabricated my own fire pot as well, I used 2 cm thick plate for the bottom of the firepot, and roughly 7-8 mm plate for the sides of the firepot. I have been practicing forge welding a lot, and my blower is as of currently constantly on while forging. I have noticed no degradation as of yet.

I followed this design: http://www.bamsite.org/firepot.html

Hope this helps.

~Jobtiel

Thank you guys for all the answers, I got the plaster idea off Youtube where people built a forge out of a BBQ Grill :D I didn't want to start out all expensive but after reading what you guys have replied here I did order 10mm thick steel to make my firepot from, I'm not going to touch any plaster or sand! :D 

Thank you all, I might post a picture of my forge on here once I'm done :) Have a good one guys!

Please do; we love photos.