I Forge Iron

Sweet home Alabama

I am just getting into the old way of blacksmithing. I have been taken under the wing of another blacksmith. I love starting the forge with flint and steel. The aroma of the coke burning. I am a novice and have much to learn but I am throughly enjoying the journey.  I am currently building my own blacksmith shop and forge. Any Alabamians out there,  feel free to give a shout. 

Jasper area.  I am currently building the base for my forge and the shop around it as well.  Hopefully going today to get a big cedar stump to bury in the ground about a foot for my anvil.  I am sort of brand new, I worked in a tool shop in high school running a gas forge and a power hammer but now i want to do it the old way with a few modern tools like a hand crank blower and a post drill.  

So burning charcoal?  Coal is a more recent fuel than the use of power hammers by several centuries!  (Earliest power hammer was from the 900's, personal communication at the Medieval Technology conference held about 30 years ago at PennState.) And the use of London Pattern Anvils more recent still!  (I have a Y1K setup I drag out for some SCA events.)

Ala Foxfire? (Though some of them were using charcoal too.)   For me anything past the Bessemer Kelly process  is "modern times". Most folks consider 19th century smithing as "traditional smithing" but base it more on American Frontier smithing not on the semi industrialized to industrialized smithing done in cities at the same time.  Also the idea of the single smith working alone is not what generally occurred unto the downturn of smithing when older smiths kept working till they dropped and most of the things they used to do were easily bought at the hardware store or by catalogue.  A "typical smithy would have 3-5 people working in it.  The invention of the "small" powerhammer run by line shaft or motor helped make a single smith smithy profitable.