I Forge Iron

Greenhorn from Misssissippi

echofive

Good morning everyone, my name is John.  I'm from Mississippi and I am new to blacksmithing. 

I built a crude forge just to play with.  My anvil is atrocious, it's very old but it's small, cast iron and looks to be of fairly poor quality, with one of the legs broken.  I am in the market for a good anvil if someone near Mississippi happens to see this and has a lead for me.  I'd appreciate an older anvil with a nice face, and am willing to pay a fair price for it but I've been looking for years and I know they are like hens teeth, so I am not opposed to modern anvils.  I've been in contact with a local gentleman about taking a weekend class to make some tools. 

As soon as I get myself a firepot, I'll be upgrading my current forge.  I have a Champion 140 blower and the gears look near mint, but the middle gear is frozen.  I soaked it in diesel for 2 days and PB blaster and put heat to the frozen shaft, but I can't get it to budge.  I'm thinking about long-soaking it in Evaporust to see if maybe that might loosen something up.  The housing was clean, and it wasn't full of rust.  Hopefully I am not breaking etiquette throwing all of my problems in my introduction post, but it seemed appropriate to include my current situation in the introduction.

I'm attaching a photo of my forge, don't judge me harshly it was an afternoon project pieced together from scrap I had laying around.  The steel squiggly below it is my first experimentation.  I'd appreciate any leads on gear.  I need everything.

I look forward to being part of the community, thank you for having me.

signal-2021-02-12-222052.jpg

signal-2021-02-12-222339.jpg

TPAAAT - Applied Anvil Acquisition Technique to find an anvil or other tools.