I Forge Iron

Hand cranked blower set up...

Michael

OK so now I have a decent blower on a stand, and on most of the forges I've seen its set up the crank with the left hand for a right handed smith, of which I am one. i've been using a squirell cage blower for about 4 yrs now, it and its electric switch are on the right and the 2 inch tweer piping under the forge has pretty much rusted into a right sided configuration.

So, I can massively rearrange my forge set up, cut the drum out of its stand and reverse it, move the anvil to make space for the blower to use with my left hand and while I was pondering this the lovely wife pipes in with 'well, don't you use your left hand to hold the tongs?' She has a point, the right hand is tending the fire but the left is holding the tongs and a right side placement of the blower, would let me crank right handed and stop when its time to pick up the hammer.

So where's your blower, and how do you use it, lefty or righty?

Thanks,

Michael-frightening the neighbors since the year Four.

I prefer it on my left but I really don't much care.

Looking at your pic I don't see why you can't just rotate your whole forge to change blower position. In addition to that, the flex pipe means you could hang the blower from the rafters if you wanted to get . . . creative. :rolleyes:

Frosty

Edited by Frosty

You were not born with a hammer in your hand, you taught your self to hold, control, and use the hammer with the first hand handy (pun intended). Now is the time to teach your off hand to be useful. Crank right, hammer left. Feels awkward at first but so does grabbing hold of a piece of hot metal. Just takes a little practice to get it to work.