I Forge Iron

2x72 number of receiver slots/bays

Bad_Rockk

Good Morning,

The mind is the limiting factor of what you can do with a 2x72 Belt grinder. Vertical, horizontal, any angle, upside down, sliding section, radius control, you decide! You figure out what you want to do for a result and work backwards to find what/how is the best way to achieve the result. Think Simple!! Sometimes hold your work in/with a wooden stick (it saves your finger tips). If the swarf goes down, put a bucket with water in it below. If the swarf goes toward you, you catch on fire!! Never grind Aluminum and steel with the same belt (what is thermite?).

Neil

12 hours ago, Frosty said:

Slot bays?

The tubes were the attachments are positioned. Reeder calls them bays and does one with 3 bays. Wilmont has their Quattro with 4 arm setup. 

Can someone give an example where more than two of them are needed?

I'm new to 2x72 belt grinders and don't have experience working with them. I know that this are very versatile tools and this is a reason I will build one for myself. So thanks for your tips.

Where you have more than 2 tool arms needing a place to live

I dont waste time retooling the arms, I have them mounted and I change out the arm as one assembly/  Its faster switching back and forth that way

I am set up with arms for the 10 inch contact, 3 inch contact and slack belt combo arm, small wheel arm, 44 radius platten.  That's 4 arms currently and since only one can be used at a time I have to put the other three arms somewhere when they are not being used.  If this doesn't make sense to you, then I am not sure I understand your question

Mine mount on the wall of my shop when not being used, not the grinder

Hi Steve,

your answer make sense but my question was something else.

The Wilmont Quattro Grinder has 4 slots (where the tooling arms are pushed into) over each other. The Reeder ultimate grinder has 3 slots.