I Forge Iron

Hello from Texas

osoincognito

Hi there,

Nice to meet everyone! I'm Oso and have gotten my shop set up in the last couple months. I took a class a couple years ago in blacksmithing as a gift from my wife and fell in love, but it took a while to get the space to build a small shop. Primary interest in smithing is tool making right now, working on building basic hand tools right now like punches, slitters and drifts. I really have a fascination with hammers and am looking forward to trying to make a couple. Long term I'd like to do some bladesmithing, but I'm in no rush. I've never been a knife guy, in fact I have carried the same Spyderco Native for 10 years. My primary interest is to make useful tools that I can give to friends and family that will enrich their lives and hobbies.

I've started smithing because I like making things. I worked in the firearms industry for about 10 years as a gunsmith, salesman, designer, etc. I build rifles still for fun, and have a few rifle projects still in process, but I am slowing down on that side. I work in the tech world now, and sit in front of a screen all day. I'm thankful for the job I have and the ability to provide for my family, but I miss working with my hands and being able to look at something I created at the end of the day. Blacksmithing is one of my outlets for that lack, I am excited for how much I'll learn here, and the journey I'll take improving my skill as a craftsman.

I look forward to learning from everyone here. 

Anonymous Bear; Welcome; there are several IT folks on these forums; we find it very soothing that after a long day herding bits we can come home and hit something with a hammer---repeatedly!